How to generate a minidump and backtrace for a hanging Julia program on Appveyor/Windows?

Hello all,

I have what appears to be a deadlock(?) bug in my Julia package that is exposed only on Appveyor, and only when I test through the CI – if I enter the Appveyor VM through RDP and manually run tests, they pass…weird. Also, FWIW, this only happens on Julia 1.3. It all works for Julia 1.2. Please see this github issue for context.

Essentially, because the bug is only exposed through the CI, I need a way to generate a minidump or other debugging info via commands in the appveyor.yml, or I can RDP into the VM while my program is hanging and run commands manually from another terminal session (that might be the best option?).

I’m pretty new to debugging at this level, so any help (especially suggesting specific commands to run to generate the info I need) would be very much appreciated.

Thanks!
Vincent

Since you have RDP access it is probably easiest to do this manually:

• download and install msys2 (https://www.msys2.org/)
  • install gdb (probably gdb or mingw-w64-gdb)
  • run gdb
  • at the (gdb) prompt, type attach <pid> where <pid> is the process ID of the deadlocked process (visible in the task manager)
  • at the (gdb) prompt, type bt, which should (hopefully) give you a backtrace hinting toward the problem

See also

1 Like

Thanks so much @ihnorton! I will look into all of this.

Hmm, when trying to run the above, I’m getting some errors (I think)

# gdb
GNU gdb (GDB) 8.3
Copyright (C) 2019 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.
Type "show copying" and "show warranty" for details.
This GDB was configured as "x86_64-w64-mingw32".
Type "show configuration" for configuration details.
For bug reporting instructions, please see:
<http://www.gnu.org/software/gdb/bugs/>.